Towers of Babel
Towers of Babel
Audio scrapbook? What's that?
0:00
-5:15

Audio scrapbook? What's that?

Although I’m not sure exactly where this Towers of Babel project is going, I anticipate that I’ll want to share some audio along the way. So I’ll be posting some of it here on Substack.

The audio will also get scooped up by my RSS feed, which means it’ll show up in iTunes and on other podcasting platforms. But please know this is not really a podcast, at least not the sort of podcast to which you’ve probably become accustomed. Think of this as more of an audio scrapbook where I can share interviews, clips from real podcasts, extracts from YouTube videos, and any other stray bits of interesting audio that I discover.

I’ll usually include a brief introduction, but the audio won’t have any fancy sound design or music beds or sound effects, and will be mostly unedited. Rough around the edges. Hence, “scrapbook.”

Today, for example, I interviewed Elizabeth Kolbert. I’ll share our (very lightly edited) conversation in a separate post by the end of this week. Let the scrapbooking begin!

* The audio excerpt from Krista Tippett’s interview with Daniel Kahneman is from the On Being episode Why We Contradict Ourselves and Confound Each Other.

Towers of Babel
Towers of Babel
I can’t prove it. Not yet, anyway. But I have a sickening suspicion that our love of Story has become an addiction—and it’s killing us.
(This is a periodic audio supplement to my Towers of Babel project.)
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Alan Mairson